Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Illinois Section AWWA News

AWWA Award Nominations Due

Wednesday, August 31, 2016   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Laurie Dougherty
Share |

Abel Wolman Award of Excellence

This award recognizes those whose careers in the water works industry exemplify vision, creativity, and excellent professional performance characteristic of Abel Wolman's long and productive career. 

2016 Recipient:  Dr. Michael McGuire, California/Nevada Section


Award of Merit

This award is to recognize those outside the water industry who have demonstrated outstanding service in support of the principles of AWWA in providing better water for people.

2016 Recipient:  Senator Barbara Boxer, California/Nevada Section

                               and Congressman Bob Gibbs, Ohio Section


Distinguished Public Service Award

This award is presented in recognition of distinguished public service outside the line of duty by an AWWA member. 

2016 Recipient:  Steve Dennis, California/Nevada Section


Diversity Award

This award is presented to recognize the individual or organization that has created, promoted, and maintained diversity within an organization by establishing an environment that recognizes, encourages, and effectively utilizes each individual’s talents. 

2016 Recipients:  Minneapolis Water Treatment & Distribution Services Division, Minnesota Section


Dr. John L. Leal Award

The Dr. John L. Leal Award is presented annually for distinguished service to the water profession in commemoration of the sound medical/public health expertise and the courageous leadership advancing public health that characterized the life of Dr. John L. Leal.

2016 Recipient:  City of Grand Rapids Water System, Michigan Section






Honorary Member Award

This award is presented each year to individuals whose knowledge and accomplishments in the field of water supply entitle them to special recognition. 

2016 Recipients:  Dr. Bruce A. Macler, California/Nevada Section

                                   Richard Talley, Texas Section


Outstanding Service to AWWA Award

This award recognizes and honors a member of AWWA who has demonstrated outstanding service to the Association through leadership and active participation in AWWA programs.

2016 Recipient:  Kathryn L. (Katie) McCain, Texas Section


Water Industry Hall of Fame Award

This award recognizes those living and deceased who have made the most significant contributions to the field of public water supply. 

2016 Recipients:  George Harrison Fenkell, Michigan Section

                                  Robert T. Sasman, Illinois Section


Jack W. Hoffbuhr Award

This award was established in 2008 to honor the legacy of Jack Hoffbuhr (retired Executive Director, AWWA) by recognizing outstanding performance and accomplishments by a Section staff member of AWWA.

2016 Recipient:  Dr. Timothy C. Worley, California/Nevada Section


John Lechner Award of Excellence

This award was established to recognize an AWWA Section Manufacturers/Associates Council member who has demonstrated exemplary service to the drinking water community and to AWWA's mission and goals.

2016 Recipient:    Cliff Shrive, Ohio Section



Award criteria and submission forms for each award can be found on the AWWA website:

Membership Software Powered by®  ::  Legal