Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
Surprise Lunch - Do Not Tell
View Registrations Tell a Friend About This EventTell a Friend

When: Tuesday, February 9, 2016
11:30 AM
Where: The Reserve of Geneva
2508 Kaneville Road
Geneva, Illinois  60134
United States
« Go to Upcoming Event List  


You are invited to a surprise party to honor Bob Sasman for being named to the Water Industry Hall of Fame.  Bob will be subsquently acknowledged at WATERCON and at ACE but we wanted to get a gathering of his friends to honor him with a surprise lunch at his high rise.

It will be at 11:30 am - on February 9th.  You will need to RSVP for this lunch by Friday, Feb 5th in order to have a lunch reserved for you.  There is no charge for the lunch and it will be just to acknowledge Bob Sasman.   It will be held at the Reserve in Geneva,  2508 Kaneville Road, Geneva, Il  60134

Some background on the importance of this honor.

Award Criteria

To perpetuate the memory of those living and deceased who have made the most significant contributions to the field of public water supply.

Purpose of the Award: The Water Industry Hall of Fame was established in 1970 to perpetuate the memory of those living and deceased who have made the most significant contributions to the field of public water supply. The names of the members of the Hall of Fame are engraved on a bronze plaque at AWWA headquarters, and a plaque signifying membership is presented for mounting. If deceased, the plaque is presented to the institution or organization with whom the member is identified.

The Award: A Water Industry Hall of Fame Plaque.

Frequency of the Award: As deserved.

Eligibility for the Award: To be eligible for the award, a candidate should be substantially retired, with achievements, character, and professionalism well established, be beyond the age of 60, and have been an AWWA member for 15 years. The candidate's influence upon the water supply profession must still be felt in the practices, inventions, or literature for which he/she was responsible. Contributions to the water supply profession may have been in any of the many facets of disciplines of the field as long as they are significant and have stood the test of time.

There are only 113 members of the AWWA Water Industry Hall of Fame and 13 of them came from Illinois.

1971   John R. Baylis, Illinois Section
1974   Omar H. Jewell, Illinois Section
1977   Charles H. Spaulding, Illinois Section
1977   John W. Alvord, Illinois Section
1980   Harold E. Babbit, Illinois Section
1980   James J. Doland, Illinois Section
1981   Hardy Cross, Illinois Section
1982   Arthur M. Buswell, Illinois Section
1984   Clifford H. Fore, Illinois Section
1986   Louis R. Howson, Illinois Section

1987   Herbert E. Hudson, Illinois Section

1999   William H. Richardson, Illinois Section


2016   Robert Sasman, Illinois Section

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal