Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
E-Splash June 2013 - District 2 Trustee - Jensen
Share |

Illinois Section AWWA - E-Splash - June 2013


Don Jensen
District 2 Trustee

Have you been ‘awarded’ lately?

How about your co-workers, employees or your utility?

 The Awards Committee has an offer that you can’t refuse!

The Section recognizes a number of accomplishments and milestones reached by water professionals and their utilities.

These include:
  • Quarter Service Award
  • ISAWWA Clifford E. Fore Award
  • Meritorious Service Award
  • Volunteer Appreciation Award
  • Water Professional of the Year Award
  • 100 Year Club Award

Each year, the Awards Committee asks members to nominate eligible recipients. Awards are presented at the WaterCon awards breakfast on the closing day (Thursday) of the conference. In this issue of SPLASH you will see an impressive list of this year’s awardees. While there are a good number of recipients annually, I know that there are many more who deserve recognition but have not been nominated.

I’ll bet that you know someone who is eligible, perhaps you!

That was the case at our Utility. I assumed that our public water supply, on line since 1889, had long been in the Century Club. An email to Terry McGhee, Awards Committee Chair, proved me wrong. I also realized that along with three colleagues, I was long ago eligible for the Quarter Century Service Award (sobering realization!).

I decided that it was time to rectify this situation. I was pleasantly surprised at how simple the nomination process is. As with most Section interactions these days, there is a quick and easy on-line form to fill out.

Once I submitted the nominations, I was in for another surprise.

The Quarter Century Awardees each receive a FREE FULL CONFERENCE REGISTRATION to WaterCon! Not only that, our utility received another full registration for the Century Club Award. Being no dummy, I gave that one to my boss, and since he is no dummy, he presented the award to the Mayor at a recent City Council meeting. Win, Win, Win!

Please take a moment to nominate someone this year.

Nominations must be received by February 1st. All Awards will be presented at the WATERCON2014 Conference. Here is the link.


AWWA also offers over thirty different awards, including:

AWWA Water Landmarks, Heroism Award, Gimmicks and Gadgets, Outstanding Service to AWWA, Courageous Service Award & Wendell Ladue Safety Award

Information and nomination forms are available at:


It is OK to pat yourself on the back as well as your co-workers and even your employer. It is a ‘rewarding experience’


Item Name Posted By Date Posted
Splash Winter 2018 PDF (11.35 MB)  more ] Administration 2/8/2018
SPLASH Media Kit_2018 PDF (1.8 MB) Administration 11/13/2017
SPLASH_Fall_2017 PDF (9.64 MB) Administration 11/1/2017
Splash Summer 2015 PDF (8.83 MB)  more ] Administration 7/6/2015
SPLASH ADVERTISING_2015 PDF (2.12 MB) Administration 11/18/2014
Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal