Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
E-Splash June 2013 - Water Taste Test Competition
Share |

Illinois Section AWWA - E-Splash - June 2013


Water Taste Contest Competition
Nora Bertram, Chair

bertram_nora_new During the Illinois Section American Water Works Annual Conference in Springfield on March 19, 2012, five utilities competed in the 19thAnnual Water Taste Contest to hold the title of the best water produced in the State of Illinois.

Among the competitors were the Village of Park Forest, last year’s ISAWWA winner; the EJ Water Corporation, winner of the 15 County Water Supply Operators Association water taste contest; the Village of Montgomery, winner of the Kane County Water Association water taste contest; the Village of Romeoville, winner of the South Suburban Water Works Association water taste contest; and the Central Lake County Joint Action Water Agency, winner of the West Shore Water Producers Association water taste contest.

A drinking water sample, produced by each of the five utilities, was submitted and evaluated by a panel of local celebrity judges on water clarity, odor and taste.

Once the scores were tallied, EJ Water Corporation was awarded best water produced in the State of Illinois and will be eligible to defend its title next year at the ISAWWA 20th annual Water Taste Contest and to compete in this year’s 9th annual AWWA water taste contest in Denver, Colorado, for the best water produced in North America. EJ Water Corporation’s win marks the first time that a utility from central Illinois has won the contest since the IAWC – Champaign District last won in 2006, so congratulations are extended to them on that achievement as well. Lori Stenzel, District 4 Trustee, made the presentation of the award mug to a very honored and excited EJ Water Corporation on April 16, 2013 at their monthly board meeting.

AlexisNicholsPhotography_Watercon2013-325 Sincere thanks are extended to the contestants and our judges; Mr. Kevin Lookis, ISAWWA Past-chair; Mr. John Van Arsdel, ISAWWA Chair, and Mr. Reid Campbell, current AWWA Vice President.

Only Utilities that produce water and are winners of local water association contests are eligible to compete in the ISAWWA’s Water Taste Contest, therefore, if you are a water association looking to host a competition and have your winner participate in next year’s 20thannual Water Taste Contest, Nora Bertram at (312) 236-9147.

Click here for more water taste test photos.


Item Name Posted By Date Posted
Splash Winter 2018 PDF (11.35 MB)  more ] Administration 2/8/2018
SPLASH Media Kit_2018 PDF (1.8 MB) Administration 11/13/2017
SPLASH_Fall_2017 PDF (9.64 MB) Administration 11/1/2017
Splash Summer 2015 PDF (8.83 MB)  more ] Administration 7/6/2015
SPLASH ADVERTISING_2015 PDF (2.12 MB) Administration 11/18/2014
Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal