Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
E-Splash November 2013 - DSS/EPS 2013
Share |

Illinois Section AWWA - E-Splash - November 2013

D.S.S / E.P.S. 2013 A BIG SUCCESS!
Mike Ramsey Local Host Chair

The AWWA 2013 Distribution Systems Symposium / Emergency Preparedness & Security Conference (DSS/EPS) which was held in Itasca from Sunday, September 15 through Wednesday, September 18, was a great success. DSS/EPS kicked off with the very popular Sunday workshops followed by the New Member/ New Attendee Program and the Meet and Greet.

Monday started bright and early with DSS/EPS Chair Randy Moore starting the Opening General Session. Randy worked very hard on this conference, and I would like to thank him for all of his efforts. I would also like to thank Mr. Thomas Powers and Mr. Barrett Murphy for their very entertaining and great insight into the history of the City of Chicago’s water system and their current capital improvement program. The next two days were filled with a great Technical Program. Many of our ISAWWA members gave excellent presentations on many distribution and security issues.

Monday night we held our First Great Lakes Regional Tapping Contest. I want to thank Ft. Wayne, Indiana; Madison, Wisconsin; Itasca; Westmont; Arlington Heights; and the two Women’s teams - Land of Lincoln Ladies and Lansing Michigan - for participating in this great new event. Congratulations go to Lansing, Michigan, and Arlington Heights for being the first Champions of the Great Lakes Cup! I want to thank all the sponsors and volunteers, as well as Laurie Dougherty and the ISAWWA staff. Without your help and support this event would not have happened.

Men’s Tapping Teams:

  • 1st Place Arlington Heights IL
    Dave Nordin, Ryan Holthouse, John Preucil and Terry Botterman
  • 2nd Place Madison Wisconsin
    Don Russell, Bob Kempfer, Dave Laux and Greg Kolak
  • 3rd Place Westmont IL
    Jim Cates, Tony Falada, Brian Beusse and Randy Tuchow
  • 4th Place Itasca IL
    Mike Kusies, Keith Dollas, Joe Augello and Alan Anderson

  • 5th Place Ft. Wayne Indiana
    Tim Senisbaugh, James Schmuckler, Tony Colby and Herb Banks

Women’s Tapping Teams:

  • 1st Place Lansing Michigan
    Maggie Rich, Kelly Gleason, Cat Coffey and Remeco Sanders
  • 2nd Place Land of Lincoln
    Lisa Martini, Andrea Putz, Michelle Harrod and Jim Ozimek

I want to Thank Mr. Jeff Fischer (photographer) and Mr. Tom Hinde (videographer) for all their hard work documenting this event.

Wednesday we had our very popular facility tour of the DuPage Water Commission. Mr. Terry McGee and his staff did a wonderful job with the presentation and tour of this beautiful facility. We had 22 attendees tour the facility.

I would like to thank the 453 attendees and the over 60 volunteers and the National AWWA staff that made the 2013 Distribution Systems Symposium an event to remember.

Mike Ramsey Local Host Chair


Item Name Posted By Date Posted
Splash Winter 2018 PDF (11.35 MB)  more ] Administration 2/8/2018
SPLASH Media Kit_2018 PDF (1.8 MB) Administration 11/13/2017
SPLASH_Fall_2017 PDF (9.64 MB) Administration 11/1/2017
Splash Summer 2015 PDF (8.83 MB)  more ] Administration 7/6/2015
SPLASH ADVERTISING_2015 PDF (2.12 MB) Administration 11/18/2014
Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal