Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Illinois Section AWWA News

2019 Exemplary Source Water Protection Award

Monday, November 25, 2019  
Share |
Reminder! Exemplary Source Water Protection Award Applications
Due by January 15, 2020.


History of Award

Each year, the American Water Works Association (AWWA) recognizes the efforts of Source Water Protection Programs that have developed and are implementing exemplary source water protection programs. Yearly, through the Exemplary Source Water Protection award, AWWA issues up to three awards, with the intent to distribute to organizations representing different water system size classifications based on the population served. Organizations may self-nominate or be nominated by an AWWA member, regulatory agency responsible for source water protection, a local chapter of the National Rural Water Association, or regional authorities.


Nomination Information

Nominations are judged on how well a water system meets the six components of AWWA’s (G300) Source Water Protection Standard: 1) program vision; 2) source water characterization; 3) source water protection goals; 4) development of an Action Plan; 5) implementation of the Action Plan; and 6) periodic evaluation and revision of the entire program. In addition to how well a source water protection program satisfies each of the six program components for the AWWA Standard, nominees will also be evaluated on the following three criteria: 1) Effectiveness of the program; 2) Innovative approaches; and 3) Difficulties overcome.


More Information

More information about the award, including previous award recipients, eligibility and submission criteria, and the entry form click here..... If you have additional questions regarding the application process, or need help completing the form, please contact Randy Easley, Exemplary Source Water Protection Award Chair at:, or (501) 210-4935.




Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal