Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
Awardees - 2016
Share |

The 2016 award winners are presented below:

George Warren Fuller Award - The award is intended to honor an individual for their distinguished service to the water supply industry in commemoration of the sound engineering skills, diplomatic talent and constructive leadership which characterized the life of George Warren Fuller.

Terry McGhee, DuPage Water Commission

Water Professional of the Year Award – dedication and motivation demonstrated through a career in the water works industry

Brett Hanson, IEPA

Robert T Sasman Volunteer Appreciation Award
– recognition of time and effort volunteered to the enhancement of the Illinois Section

Robert Madura, CLCJAWA

Thurston E. Larson Award
– Best Paper at the 2014 ISAWWA Conference

Scott Bailey, City of Monticello -- Water Main Breaks

Meritorious Service Award
- To recognize an individual that has contributed valuable and significant volunteer time and effort to the Section activities and goals.

Todd LaFountain, City Water Light & Power

John Lechner Award of Excellence
- An individual award of excellence to recognize a section Manufacturers/Associates Council member who has demonstrated exemplary service to the drinking water community and to AWWA's mission and goals.

Michael D Simpson, ME Simpson Company

Youth Outreach Recognition
- Given to someone who makes outstanding contributions in meeting outreach goals by implementing Outreach Programs
Utility: AQUA Illinois, Kankakee, Illinois

Individual:  Darrell King, City of Evanston


Clifford E Fore Award - This award is presented to Section members who provide public service above and beyond the job duties required of them in the waterworks field.

Greg Swanson, City of Moline

Water Taste Test  - Given to the Utility that produces the best tasting water in the State of Illinois

City of Moline, Moline, Illinois

Source Water Protection Award - To recognize organizations in Illinois who have developed and are implementing exemplary source water protection programs.

Systems as defined by the EPA:

  • Very Small water systems serve 25-500 people
  • Small water systems serve 501-3,300 people
  • Medium water systems serve 3,301-10,000 people
  • Large water systems serve 10,001-100,000 people
  • Very Large water systems serve 100,001+ people 

None in 2015


Utility Water Saver Award - The ISAWWA Water Efficiency Committee will honor ISAWWA member affiliated utilities that are making significant contributions to water efficiency within the water industry.

City Water Light & Power, Springfield, Illinois


E.D.U.C.A.T.E. Award - . This award recognizes the outstanding educator of the year. This award is given to the individual who has shown excellence in teaching, mentoring, or developing educational programs for the water industry. This individual has shown dedication and motivated others to seek advancement in their careers while broadening their knowledge, involvement and leadership in the water industry

2015 In Person Seminar - Chemical Properties, Safety & Security,Chlorine Properties, Safety & Security

Geza Ehrentreu, Viking Chemical

2015 Webinar - Nitrification/Denitrification Wastewater

Ryan Hennessy, Midwest Contract Operations


Safe Water Scholarship Awards- Multiple scholarships worth $500 to $1,000 each are available for students in the following programs:

Adult Continuing Education (full- or part-time), College Undergraduate (full-time)
Technical School (full-time), Enrichment Program (high school)

Leigha Green, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Madeline Thompson, University of Notre Dame
Kaitlin Toigo, Southern Illinois University-Carbondale
Jesscia Villie, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign


Quarter Century Service Award – 25 years of service to the industry

William Cerney, Jr, Village of Shorewood

Harold (Bud)Cowger, Village of Beecher

Rick Davis, CWLP

Brian Dickson, CWLP

Jim Duncan, CWLP

Brett Hanson, IEPA

Dan Marx, CWLP

Kevin McCarthy, CWLP

Ted Meckes CWLP

Phyllis Melton, CWLP

Ron Mohan, CWLP

Jerd Morstatter, City of Decatur

Michael Nicol, CWLP

Len Rago, Carollo Engineers
Ed Santen, Jr, VIllage of Indian Head Park
Joe Spain, Village of Norridge

Phil Wernsing, CWLP

AWWA - Gold, Silver - Silver Water Drop Award recognizes 30 years in the Water Industry, Gold Water Drop recognizes 50 years in the Water Industry

Gary Bach, Village of Glen Ellyn - Silver Water Drop
Robert Benton, Benton & Associates - Gold Water Drop
Thomas Berns, Berns, Clancy & Associates - Silvers Water Drop - Life Member
Jeffrey Blindt, Engineered Fluid - Silver Water Drop

James Braun, Evansville, IL - Silver Water Drop

Diane Cardella, City of Chicago - Silver Water Drop

James Carson, Aurora, IL - Gold Water Drop

Thomas Chmura - Gold Water Drop

Tony Cuzzone, City of Elmhurst - Silver Water Drop

Carl Fischer, Baxter & Woodman - Silver Water Drop

Greg Garbs, Veolia Water - Silver Water Drop

Michael Gauthier, City of Polo - Silver Water Drop

James Gifford - Village of Bedford Park - Silver Water Drop
John Grossi, HBK Meter Service - Silver Water Drop

Howard Heil, Downers Grove, IL - Life Member
Keith Kennett, Kentec, Inc - Silver Water Drop

David Lordi - Gold Water Drop

Robert Madura, CLCJAWA - Silver Water Drop

Liam McDonnell, Springfield, IL - Silver Water Drop

Steve Pittman, Hoffman Estates, IL - Silver Water Drop

Ed Santen, Jr, Village of Indian Head Park - Silver Water Drop

Arthur Schulz, Village of Roselle - Silver Water Drop

John Smith - Decatur, IL - Life Member

Dennis Stover, Marion, IL - Gold Water Drop

Michael Sturtevant, Skokie, IL - Silver Water Drop

Sandra Voigt, RHMG Engineers - Silver Water Drop

Frank Yurka, Village of Forest View - Silver Water Drop - Life Member

100 Year Club Award – Public water supplies that have served Illinois residents for 100 years

City of East Peoria

City of Rankin

Village of Christopher

Village of Glenview

Village of Oglesby

Village of Viola

Village of Winslow

2016 Overall Competition Champion:
City of Moline Water Warriors - 33 points


2016 Water Taste Test:
City of Moline

2016 Tapping Contest:
Men's Division: Village of Arlington Heights

Ladies Division:  City of Moline Water Warriors

2016 Top Ops:
City of Elgin Aquitards

2016 Meter Madness:
Bobby Cantu, City of Moline

2016 Hydrant Hysteria:
Village of Wauconda


2016 Raffle Winners:
ACE2016 Commitee Booth - $50.00 Gift Card - Jamie Rott
Backflow Committee Booth - $50.00 Gift Card - Jeff Stewart

Education Committee Booth - $50.00 Gift Card - Bob Bishop

T-CON Committee Booth - $50.00 Gift Card - Roger Davis

Water Efficiency Committee Booth - $50.00 Gift Card - Michael Montana


Grand Prize IPAD Winner - Cindy Munger


Options Submitted By Date/Time Submitted
Submissions have not been approved for viewing.
Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal