Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
Awardees - 2018
Share |

The 2018 award winners are presented below:

George Warren Fuller Award - The award is intended to honor an individual for their distinguished service to the water supply industry in commemoration of the sound engineering skills, diplomatic talent and constructive leadership which characterized the life of George Warren Fuller.

Mike Ramsey, Village of Westmont

Water Professional of the Year Award – dedication and motivation demonstrated through a career in the water works industry

Robyn Doescher, Village of Glenview

Robert T Sasman Volunteer Appreciation Award
– recognition of time and effort volunteered to the enhancement of the Illinois Section

Elisa Bonkowski, Baxter & woodman

Meritorious Service Award - To recognize an individual that has contributed valuable and significant volunteer time and effort to the Section activities and goals.

Robert Madura, CLCJAWA

John Lechner Award of Excellence
- An individual award of excellence to recognize a section Manufacturers/Associates Council member who has demonstrated exemplary service to the drinking water community and to AWWA's mission and goals.

Michelle Harrod, Midwest Water Group

Youth Outreach Recognition
- Given to someone who makes outstanding contributions in meeting outreach goals by implementing Outreach Programs
Organizational: Engineering Enterprises, Sugar Grove, IL


Clifford E Fore Award - This award is presented to Section members who provide public service above and beyond the job duties required of them in the waterworks field.

Ted Meckes, City Water Light & Power


Water Taste Test  - Given to the Utility that produces the best tasting water in the State of Illinois

City of Moline, Moline, IL

Source Water Protection Award - To recognize organizations in Illinois who have developed and are implementing exemplary source water protection programs.

Systems as defined by the EPA:

  • Very Small water systems serve 25-500 people
  • Small water systems serve 501-3,300 people
  • Medium water systems serve 3,301-10,000 people
  • Large water systems serve 10,001-100,000 people
  • Very Large water systems serve 100,001+ people 

None in 2018

Utility Water Saver Award - The ISAWWA Water Efficiency Committee will honor ISAWWA member affiliated utilities that are making significant contributions to water efficiency within the water industry.

City of Highland Park, Highland Park, IL

E.D.U.C.A.T.E. Award - Educating the Drinking Water Utilities Commendation Award for Training Excellece - This award recognizes the outstanding educator of the year. This award is given to the individual who has shown excellence in teaching, mentoring, or developing educational programs for the water industry. This individual has shown dedication and motivated others to seek advancement in their careers while broadening their knowledge, involvement and leadership in the water industry

2017 In Person Seminar - SCADA Series
Brent Studnicka, Strand Associates

2017 In Person Seminar -
Water Operator Refresher Courses
Kyla Jacobsen, City of Elgin (retired)

2017 Webinar - Safety Series
Brian Jack, Village of Lombard

2017 Committee Commendation

Sewer Collection Committee -
Scott Bernholdt, Chair


Young Professional Excellence Award outstanding leadership and participation demonstrated as a Young Professional
Carlos Covarrubias, ME Simpson Company


Young Professional Poster Competition 
1st Place: Brianna Huber, City of East Moline Improving Emergency Response: Lessons Learned from Planning & Participating in a Regional Full Scale Exercise

2nd Place: Dawn Stepler, City of Rockford - A Municipality's Effort to Combat Lead in their Water System 

Safe Water Scholarship Awards- Multiple scholarships worth $500 to $1,000 each are available for students in the following programs:

Adult Continuing Education (full- or part-time), College Undergraduate (full-time)
Technical School (full-time), Enrichment Program (high school)

William Boyer, Illinois American Water


One AWWA Operator Scholarship

The Illinois Section will award up to $2000.00 in scholarships for Operator Training. ($1000.00 from ISAWWA with a match of $1000.00 from AWWA National)

None in 2018

Quarter Century Service Award – 25 years of service to the industry

Kris Hatfield, City of Bettendorf

Kimberly Scott, Illinois American Water

Walter Willing, City of Highland Park

AWWA - Gold, Silver - Silver Water Drop Award recognizes 30 years in the Water Industry, Gold Water Drop recognizes 50 years in the Water Industry

First Name Last Name Company Name Award
William Brown, Crawford Murphy Tilly Life Member
Thomas Butler Underground Pipe & Valve Silver Water Drop
Eric Chapman Village of Glenview Silver Water Drop
Larry Coloni Village of Forsyth Silver Water Drop
Mark Crosby City of Annawan Water Dept. Silver Water Drop
Anthony Cuzzone City of Elmhurst Life Member
Ronald Erickson Momence, IL Silver Water Drop
Carl Fischer Baxter & Woodman, Inc. Life Member
John Fisher Village of New Lenox Silver Water Drop
John Gleason Grove, OK Gold Water Drop
Buzz Haviland St Charles, IL Gold Water Drop
Buford Heller, CH2M Life Member
John Holstrom Val-Matic Valve & Mfg. Corp. Life Member
Donald Jensen City of Highland Park Life Member
Brian Johnson Industrial Specialty Chemicals Silver Water Drop
David Koch Village of Harwood Hts Silver Water Drop
Chuck Lehmann Wynstone Property Owners Association Silver Water Drop
Franklin Lewis Chatham, IL Gold Water Drop
William Lorenz Evergreen Park Public Works Silver Water Drop
Federico Maisch Northbrook, IL Life Member
Stanley McClain Southeast Joliet Sanitary District Silver Water Drop
Stephen Moulton Granite City, IL Silver Water Drop
Thomas Nagle, Robinson Engineering Silver Water Drop
Robert Nelson AMEC E & I Life Member
Erik Otten Taylor Coating Sales Inc. Silver Water Drop
Steve Pittman Hoffman Estates, IL Life Member
Wayne Rassman New Lenox, IL Silver Water Drop
Randy Rogers, CDM Smith Silver Water Drop
Thomas Ruzicka Village of Bartlett Silver Water Drop
David Said Rockford, IL Silver Water Drop
Stefan Saller Bourbonnais, IL Life Member
Glen Sunderlage Village of Sleepy Hollow Life Member
Timothy Tuley Illinois-American Water Co. Silver Water Drop
Randy Vanderwerf Champaign, IL Silver Water Drop
Melanie VanHeirseele Libertyville, IL Silver Water Drop
Raymond Weller City of Litchfield Silver Water Drop

100 Year Club Award – Public water supplies that have served Illinois residents for 100 years

City of Burnham

City of South Beloit

2018 Overall Competition Champion:
City of Chicago - 11 points


2018 Tapping Contest:

Men's Division: Village of Arlington Heights - 1:30:28

Ladies Division:Cranky Bits - 2:54:94

2018 Top Ops:
City of Elgin Aquitards


2018 Meter Madness:
Brian Burton, City of Des Plaines - 46.84 seconds


2018 Water Tower Building Contest:
Naperthrill - 12.5" Tank - holding 8 oz of water for over 30 seconds


2018 Hydrant Hysteria:
Men's Division: City of Des Plaines - 1:32:65
Women's Division: City of Westmont - 2:36:04


Options Submitted By Date/Time Submitted
Submissions have not been approved for viewing.
Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal