Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
Awardees - 2019
Share |

The 2019 award winners are presented below:

George Warren Fuller Award - The award is intended to honor an individual for their distinguished service to the water supply industry in commemoration of the sound engineering skills, diplomatic talent and constructive leadership which characterized the life of George Warren Fuller.

Ted Meckes, CWLP

Water Professional of the Year Award – dedication and motivation demonstrated through a career in the water works industry

Dave McMillan, IRWA

Robert T Sasman Volunteer Appreciation Award
– recognition of time and effort volunteered to the enhancement of the Illinois Section

Brian Jack, Village of Lombard

Meritorious Service Award - To recognize an individual that has contributed valuable and significant volunteer time and effort to the Section activities and goals.

Jay Henderson, City of Evanston

John Lechner Award of Excellence
- An individual award of excellence to recognize a section Manufacturers/Associates Council member who has demonstrated exemplary service to the drinking water community and to AWWA's mission and goals.

Larry Thomas, Stanley Consultants

Youth Outreach Recognition
- Given to someone who makes outstanding contributions in meeting outreach goals by implementing Outreach Programs
None in 2019


Clifford E Fore Award - This award is presented to Section members who provide public service above and beyond the job duties required of them in the waterworks field.

Nick Gornick, City of Joliet


Water Taste Test  - Given to the Utility that produces the best tasting water in the State of Illinois

City of Batavia

Source Water Protection Award - To recognize organizations in Illinois who have developed and are implementing exemplary source water protection programs.

Systems as defined by the EPA:

  • Very Small water systems serve 25-500 people
  • Small water systems serve 501-3,300 people
  • Medium water systems serve 3,301-10,000 people
  • Large water systems serve 10,001-100,000 people
  • Very Large water systems serve 100,001+ people 

None in 2019

Utility Water Saver Award - The ISAWWA Water Efficiency Committee will honor ISAWWA member affiliated utilities that are making significant contributions to water efficiency within the water industry.

Village of Mt Prospect

E.D.U.C.A.T.E. Award - Educating the Drinking Water Utilities Commendation Award for Training Excellece - This award recognizes the outstanding educator of the year. This award is given to the individual who has shown excellence in teaching, mentoring, or developing educational programs for the water industry. This individual has shown dedication and motivated others to seek advancement in their careers while broadening their knowledge, involvement and leadership in the water industry

2018 In Person Seminar - Lead & Copper/ Understanding Electrical Drawings
Harry Harman, Baxter & Woodman

2018 In Person Seminar -
Pumps & Pumping Workshop
Robert Madura, CLCJAWA

2019 Commendation - Outstanding Contributions to Educating the Drinking Water Industry -For continuing efforts in furthering the opportunities for Section members to become more knowledgeable with current events in the ever-changing water industry.
John Donahue, North Park Public Water


Young Professional Excellence Award outstanding leadership and participation demonstrated as a Young Professional
Andrew Dow, Donohue & Associates


WiWOW - Women in Water - Outstanding Woman Award -  Each year, the ISAWWA Women in Water Committee will honor a section member that is making significant contributions to the advancement of women within the water industry

Lori Stenzel, Illinois American Water

Safe Water Scholarship Awards- Multiple scholarships worth $500 to $1,000 each are available for students in the following programs:

Adult Continuing Education (full- or part-time), College Undergraduate (full-time)
Technical School (full-time), Enrichment Program (high school)

William Boyer, Illinois American Water
Brianna Huber, City of East Moline


One AWWA Operator Scholarship

The Illinois Section will award up to $5000.00 in scholarships for Operator Training. ($1000.00 from ISAWWA with a match of $1000.00 from AWWA National)

Joseph Battista, ERTC
Charles Ilunga, ERTC
Keshang Jordan, Chicago, IL
Bryan Pittman, Village of Montgomery

Dawn Walker, Center for Neighborhood Technology

Quarter Century Service Award – 25 years of service to the industry

Todd Brooks, Illinois American Water

Silas Chandra, CWLP

Keith Kenning, Village of Downers Grove
Steven Vella, Village of Libertyville

Gold, Silver, Life Awards

First Name Last Name Company Name Award
Jeff Ashby Village of Thomson Silver Water Drop Award
Jeffrey Blindt Engineered Fluid, Inc Life Member Award
Dennis Bowe Advanced Valve Technologies Life Member Award
William Brown, Crawford Murphy Tilly Life Member Award
David Conley Life Member Award
Karen Cooper Illinois American Water Life Member Award
Clarence Foster Life Member Award
Kenneth Gardner Village of Northbrook Life Member Award
Brian Gaseor Village of Norridge Life Member Award
Carolyn Grieves Baxter & Woodman, Inc. Silver Water Drop Award
Darrell Holmes Pro-Line Safety Products Life Member Award
Michael Kelly City of Chicago Silver Water Drop Award
Baber Khan American Infrastructure Tech., LLC Silver Water Drop Award
Michael Knieps Village of Evergreen Park Silver Water Drop Award
James Lukas Village of Burr Ridge Silver Water Drop Award
Larry McCasland Utility Management Life Member Award
Liam McDonnell Retired Life Member Award
Kevin Murphy Advanced Valve Technologies Silver Water Drop Award
Allen Nelson Life Member Award
Mark O'Malley Chicago Department of Water Silver Water Drop Award
Thomas Overmyer Silver Water Drop Award
Gregory Pollitt Canton Water Plant Silver Water Drop Award
Regu Regunathan Regunathan & Associates, Inc. Gold Water Drop Award
Jack Rosenstiel Retired Silver Water Drop Award
Raymond Shine City of Crystal Lake Silver Water Drop Award
Jarrett Thomas Suburban Laboratories Inc. Silver Water Drop Award
Robert Trueblood Fox River Water Reclamation Dist. Silver Water Drop Award

100 Year Club Award – Public water supplies that have served Illinois residents for 100 years

Village of Bensenville
Village of Broadview

2019 Overall Competition Champion:
Arlington Heights - 20 points


2019 Tapping Contest:

Men's Division: Village of Arlington Heights (4 Horsemen: Gorecki, Ignoffo, Nordin, Preucil)

Ladies Division: Village of Arlington Heights (Cranky Bits: Karr, Preucil, Trevino, Schwab) 

2019 Top Ops:
City of Elgin (Aquitards: Gavioud, Huerta, Keillor)


2019 Meter Madness:
Pete Cajigas, Village of Franklin Park - 1:00:06


2019 Water Tower Building Contest:
- 12.5" Tank - holding 8 oz of water for over 30 seconds


2019 Hydrant Hysteria:
Men's Division: Village of Wauconda (Wakanda Forever: Schilf, Romero)-1:21.81
Women's Division: City of Chicago (Chicago Water Monsters:
Murray, Villagomez)-2:42.46


Options Submitted By Date/Time Submitted
Submissions have not been approved for viewing.
Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal